Search This Blog

Wednesday, 5 August 2015

Nine Colleges to be Autonomous

The Kerala State Higher Education Council (KSHEC) on Tuesday recommended grant of autonomous status to nine colleges in the state.
The Autonomy Approval Committee of KSHEC which met here considered the applications of 17 colleges. The nine colleges that have been selected will soon be subjected to inspection by the University Grants Commission (UGC) before the autonomous status is formally awarded.
The colleges granted autonomous status are: CMS College, Kottayam; UC College,Aluva; Vimala College, Thrissur; St Joseph’s College, Irinjalakuda; Marian College, Kuttikkanam; Mar Athanasius College, Kothamangalam; St Albert’s College, Ernakulam; Mercy College, Palakkad and Assumption College, Changanassery.
An autonomous college can prescribe courses, bring about changes in syllabus, evolve methods of assessment of students’ performance, hold examinations and notify results.